ASHTABULA — ­­­The Star Beacon received several awards in the Ohio Associated Press Media Editor contest.

Reporter Shelley Terry won two first-place awards, one in the category of Best Explanatory Reporting for a series on the Underground Railroad in Ohio, and another for Best Feature Writer, a body-of-work category.

Brian Haytcher and Warren Dillaway took third place in the Best Public Service category for a series of stories on the death and funeral of U.S. Army Sgt. Thomas Cole Walker. Terry also contributed to that coverage.

Dillaway also took third place in Best Photo Story for his coverage of Walker’s funeral.

Sportswriter Brendan Feeney earned third place in the Sports Feature Writer category.

“I am very happy to see the work of our newsroom team recognized at the state level,” said Star Beacon Publisher Sharon Sorg. “The entire team dedicates themselves to providing credible local information on a daily basis and we are fortunate to have such talented journalists at the Star Beacon.”

The Star Beacon’s awards came in APME Ohio’s Division II, made up of newspapers with daily circulations of 8,000 to 11,999.

“I’m proud to see our team’s work singled out among the best in Ohio,” said Star Beacon Editor Ed Puskas.

“I see their commitment to covering Ashtabula County people, places and events every day. I’m glad to see their dedication and talent recognized.”

Statewide award winners are normally recognized at an annual Ohio APME luncheon in Columbus, but this year’s event — scheduled for May 9 — was canceled because of the coronavirus outbreak.

Recommended for you