JEFFERSON — Ashtabula City Council may boast a few new faces next year, as five newcomers have thrown their hats in the ring and a two incumbents chose not to seek re-election.

Petitions for the Nov. 5 election were due last Wednesday at the Ashtabula County Board of Elections Office.

A long-time public official, Ward 2 council member Democrat August Pugliese is not running for re-election, choosing to retire after serving the city for more than 50 years, as an employee, city manager and council person.

“I served in all three City Halls,” he said.

Hoping for Pugliese’s seat are Democrat Calvin Crawford and Republican Earl Tucker, who heads the city’s Parks and Recreation Board.

Republican Christopher McClure, who serves as council’s vice president, said he’s not running for re-election because he doesn’t have the time to dedicate to council and meetings.

“I think we moved the ball forward and I think we have some great momentum,” he said. “I cherish my friendships truly with everyone I served with, no matter the party, no matter the disagreements we may have had along the way — we all wanted the same thing and that was what we thought would best serve our community.”

There are two council-at-large seats open. Council President John Roskovics’ term is up this year and, seeking another term, Roskovics is up against two Republicans: Ward 4 incumbent Michael Speelman and Edward Carrillo, a local physician. Independent Kenneth Vanyo also seeks a seat.

Representing Ward 1, incumbent Democrat Kym Foglio seeks re-election. She was appointed by the local Democratic Party to fill Roskovics’ seat when he won a council-at-large seat in November 2017.

Foglio is being challenged by Republican Tom Kane.

City Manager incumbent Jim Timonere, a Democrat, hopes to retain his seat. He’s being challenged by Independent candidate Darrell Hamilton.

City Solicitor Michael Franklin, a Republican, will be alone on the ballot, as will Municipal Judge Laura DiGiacomo, who also filed for re-election.

An Ashtabula County attorney and former assistant county prosecutor, DiGiacomo was appointed judge of the Municipal Court in January 2015 by Gov. John Kasich. She replaced Albert Camplese, who in the fall of 2014 was elected to Ashtabula County Common Pleas Court, probate/juvenile division.

All candidates for Ashtabula City have been approved by the Ashtabula County Election Board staff.

The board’s next meeting is 10 a.m. Wednesday.

Recommended for you