JEFFERSON — Village council reorganized for 2021 and received a state-of-the-village report from Jefferson Mayor Judy Maloney on Monday evening at village hall.

Maloney celebrated a $1,350,000 financial carryover to 2021 from 2020. She said she was happy with the carryover because of all the challenges the village faced during the coronavirus pandemic.

She said the village received $105,000 of the carryover from workers compensation premiums. Maloney also said CARES Act funds were used for wages and to upgrade facilities with touchless technologies and the purchase of a police cruiser to best operate in COVID-19 circumstances.

Maloney also detailed a long line of projects completed in 2020 including the purchase of a sewer-storm camera and a used ambulance for the purpose of televising utility lines.

“We no longer need to depend on third-party contractors to identify sewer and storm problems,” she said.

“We also planted over 175 new trees throughout the village,” Maloney said.

Maloney said a new fire truck, expected to be delivered this week, was paid for by a $100,000 grant from the U.S. Department of Agriculture with another $469,000 financed by the USDA over a 10-year period at 2.35 percent interest.

Village council was informed that the community center intends to expand hours that were reduced due to virus complications. A schedule of 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Thursday and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Friday will be instituted.

Jefferson Village Administrator Pasquale Martuccio said a zoning case involving an R-2 categorization that was the subject of litigation was recently ruled in favor of the village.

The village completed the final two finance hearings on Monday evening and will be working on a final budget to be passed before the start of the second quarter of 2021.


In other business

• Village council approved committee assignments including Lon Damon as chair person of building/lands committee and Katie Drier as a member; Brian Diehl as chairman of the finance committee and Rick Hoyson as a member; Brian Diehl as a member of the forestry committee, Kay Ann Brabender as chairwoman of the recreation committee and Ricky Hoyson as chairman of the safety committee and Kay Ann Brabender as a member and Katie Drier as chairwoman of the utilities/wastewater/services committee and Lon Damon as a member.

Michelle Fioritto was appointed to a three-year term on the board of tax review; Bill Burnett was appointed to a five-year term on the board of zoning appeals, Brian Diehl and Robert Burnett approved as council person, and private citizen, respectively, to the planning commission and Maloney was appointed to a one-year term on the ambulance board.

Council also approved the appointment of Tom Lachey, David Locy, Robert Beckwith, Brabender and Hoyston to the Fireman Dependency Board; Brabender to the Oakdale Cemetery Board of Trustees and Pat Bradek to the design review board.


Trending Video

Recommended for you