CC Roundup...

CC Roundup...

Running a 17:31.9 at Champion, Conneaut's Shane Tagle finished second in the boys race of the Ray

Sweeney Invitational, helping the Spartans claim third place in the eight-team field. The

Spartans, with 101 points, trailed Mineral Ridge (54) and Chagrin Falls (57) and finished ahead of

fifth-place Cardinal, which had 119 points. John Stamp ran an 18:35 for the Spartans and finished

ninth and Andrew Vichosky turned in a 19:41.8 to place 21st overall. Devin Ledlow placed 38th

overall with a time of 20:35.8, Tevin Colbert 45th in 20:56.3, Barry Anderson 53rd with 21:35 and

Ian Williams 88th in 26:59.

Chris Palla completed the course in 18:38.6 and finished 10th to lead the Huskies, and teammate

Tim Filla was close behind, running an 18:41.8 and finishing 11th. Ron Whiting ran a 20:11.4 and

finished 29th overall for the Huskies. Aaron Laning was 34th overall with a time of 20:21, Alex

Weizer 48th in 21:13.7, Tyler Hostetler 57th in 21:47.6 and Derek Adams 63rd in 22:11.6.

Kevin Punkar, SS. John and Paul's sole runner, was 12th overall with a time of 18:44.9. Grand

Valley's Tyler Hodgkinson ran a 21:47.6 to finish 56th. Ledgemont's P.J. Burke finished 64th in

22:25.5, Michael Prince 69th in 23:09.2 and Michael Rusnak 87th in 27:16.7.

The best area performance in the girls race was turned in by SJP's Brittany DiMare, the Heralds'

only runner, who finished fifth overall with a time of 21:14.9. Chagrin Falls, with 35 points,

topped the team standings. Conneaut placed third with 82 points, Cardinal was seventh with 148 and

Grand Valley eighth with 177.

Sheila Sherman and Jessica Hively powered the Spartans' charge. Sherman placed ninth overall with

a time of 22:08.3, and Hively was 10th with a time of 22:18. Mari Iarocci ran a 23:09.5 to finish

17th, Hannah Fertig clocked a 23:19.2 to finish 21st and Becky Betteridge ran a 24:44.8 to place

36th. Leah Stamp was 43rd in 27:27.4 and Katie Tylman 61st in 29:32.1.

Cardinal's Kaitlyn Kelly finished 22nd overall, running a 23:22.1, and Sarrah Moskin placed 25th

with a time of 23:55.2. Emily Brockway was 38th in 24:57.2, Amy Moskin 41st in 25:25.4, Vyta

Kavaliauskas 42nd in 25:25.4, Jessica Weinman 43rd in 25:30.2 and Samantha Bogan 50th in 26:54.8.

Seira Holley was GV's top runner, finishing in 22:50.9 and placing 13th. Tabitha Moody was 32nd in

24:20.5, Amber Holbert 54th in 27:30, Annie Paster 64th in 30:31 and Lauren Prax 65th in 30:55.2.

Ledgemont's Kim Hunter ran a 22:57 to finish 15th, and Katie Heitman clocked a 31:20.6 to finish


Tomahawk Run

Perry opted to avoid the crowds at the Tiffin Carnival Cross Country Invitational and competed at

the Walsh Jesuit Tomahawk Run, where the Pirates' boys and girls teams claimed second place in

their respective races.

Running over a 4,000-meter course, coach Bill Sarvis' Perry girls finished with 58 points, just

two behind McDonald, which topped the 10-team field with 56. Meredith Schuette paced the Pirates,

running a 16:22 and finishing fourth. Stephanie Stark placed eighth with a time of 16:48, Carrie

Jones 13th in 17:01, Marissa Baranauskas 16th in 17:11, Karmen Pirc 17th in 17:15, Gigi Gufreda

21st in 17:25 and Katie Sawczuk 31st in 18:01.

The Perry boys, running in a 14-team field over a 5,000-meter course, also finished second to

McDonald. The Blue Devils finished with 50 points, the Pirates with 64 and Harvey had 13 points to

finish fourth. Perry's top runner, Daniel Jackisch clocked a 16:59 to finish second, 11 seconds

behind McDonald's Joseph Copploe. The Pirates' Sid Biddle ran a 17:42 and finished ninth. Adam

Rosenbaum finished 15th with a time of 17:58, just ahead of teammate Brendan Campana, who claimed

the 16th spot with a time of 17:59. Nick White was 22nd with a time of 18:10, Tom Jordan 53rd in

19:01 and Jeff Shoup 71st in 19:38.

The Red Raiders' effort was led by Kyle Griffith, who ran to a seventh-place finish in 17:37. John

Spargur completed the course in 18:03 to finish 19th, Jacob Farren ran an 18:13 to finish 25th,

Nate Astrup turned in an 18:36 to finish 36th and Alex Petecca finished 44th with a time of 18:50.

Bob Alli placed 52nd with a time of 19:03, and Brian Rowan ran 19:26 to place 59th.

Tiffin Carnival

The Jefferson girls finished seventh in the 26-team field in the Division II-B varsity race, which

was won by Kettering Archbishop Alter. The Falcons finished with 255 points, close behind

sixth-place Bellevue, which had 252, and fifth-place Defiance, with 249. Archbishop Alter had 74


Margot Waid and Beth Wladyka paced the Falcons. Waid turned in a time of 21:49 to finish 30th, and

Wladyka ran a 21:53 and finished 34th. Carissa O'Connor ran a 22:14 and finished 44th, Julia

Mansfield was 62nd with a 22:53, Joslin Landis 85th in 23:58, Tara Neely 89th in 24:09 and Kelly

Blon 128th in 26:03.

In the Division III girls race, the Pymatuning Valley girls, with 329 points, finished 35th in the

49-team field. Samantha Turner was the Lakers' top runner, clocking a 20:44 and finishing 47th.

Trisha Gruskiewicz completed the course in 21:58 to finished 99th overall, Samatha Jordan ran a

25:04 to finish 249th, Felicia Morrison 25:33 to place 268th, LaJoya Smith 25:56 to place 278th

and Sarah Sundberg 32:49 to finish 327th.

Forty-six teams ran in the boys Division II race, and Jefferson finished 16th among them with 502

points. Springfield Greenon, with 181 points, went home with the team championship. Aaron Sharp,

running a 17:28 and finishing 47th, led the Falcon contingent. Matt Donathan ran a 17:34 to finish

59th, and Randy Beach finished 62nd with a time of 17:42. Mike Kurpyl's time of 18:58 was good for

154th, and Mike Grimm ran a 19:18 to finish 185th. Chris Gray clocked a 19:27 and finished 193rd,

and Jay Mungas placed 199th with a time of 19:29.

The PV boys amassed 408 points in the Division III race to finish 47th in the 62-team field. Led

by Landon Hamilton's 16:47, good for 14th place, each of the Laker runners set a personal best

Saturday. Jake Bessman finished 150th with a time of 18:41, Marcus Cunningham 308th in 20:26, Matt

Lautanen 367th in 21:43 and Bo Shreves 375th in 22:10.

Junior high

SJP's Danny Hare ran to the individual championship in the junior high race at Champion. His time

of 11:55 was two seconds better than that of McDonald's Jerry Dugan. In the team standings,

Conneaut, with 49 points, finished second to McDonald.

The Spartan charge was led by Casey Tagle, whose time of 12:21 was good for fourth place. Anthony

Terry placed eighth in 13:31, Zach Harper 11th in 13:49, Tyrese Sayle 12th in 13:54 and Alex

Williams 14th in 14:30.

- Tom Harris

Star Beacon Print Edition: 9/10/2006

This Week's Circulars