The Star Beacon; Ashtabula, Ohio

November 10, 2013

Famous folks!

ACBF to induct 14 into HOF

Star Beacon

— The Ashtabula County Basketball Foundation has put 118 men and women into the Ashtabula County Basketball Hall of Fame in 10 years.

On April 7, the ACBF will honor the careers of another group of former players, coaches and contributors at the 11th installment of the organization’s awards dinner with induction.

Those being honored include Tim Bowler (Ashtabula, Class of 1977), Jim “Congo” Adams (Conneaut, 1954), Jim Welty (Edgewood, 1980), Laura Silvieus (Edgewood, 1973), Nadine Cox (Geneva, 1980), Mike Blauman (Geneva, 1971), Ray Harriman (Grand Valley, 1986), Clyde Koski (Harbor, 1950s), Jonathan Freeman (Jefferson, 1963), Heidi French (Pymatuning Valley, 1981), Sean Freeman (PV, 1990), Eddie Kropf (Spencer, 1960), Dave Golen (St. John, 1991) and Phil Garcia (contributor).

The 2013 Hall of Fame class ties 2009’s class as the second-biggest group to be inducted. Fifteen people were inducted in 2008.

The event will begin at 2:30 p.m. with a social hour and dinner will be at 3. The ACBF will also recognize its Referee of the Year, Boys and Girls Coach of the Year and Boys and Girls Player of the Year. The organization will also present its Coaches’/Referees Appreciation Award.

Tickets for the event are $25 for adults and $10 for students and can be purchased at any of the Ashtabula County high schools, the Star Beacon, Iarocci Law Firm or Joslin-Landis Insurance.   

Ettinger is a freelance writer from Ashtabula.