The Star Beacon; Ashtabula, Ohio

February 16, 2013

Area has solid 1st night on sectional mats

Division II best represented

For the Star Beacon

— By the end of wrestling Friday night, a plethora of area competitors had advanced to within a victory of qualifying for their respective district tournaments and several teams are in the hunt to win sectional championships.

Division I

Madison has 84 points and stands three points behind the host Rebels at the South sectional. Riverside is fourth with 64.5 points.

Jarrad Lasko scored two pins at 126 pounds and Aaron Sweeney had a pin and a decision at 152 to lead the Blue Streaks. Tim Streisel (170), Ryan Montgomery (132) and Jacob Steigner (120) all had pins and Nick Montgomery (138) and Bo Ransom (145) each netted a technical fall. Drew Schiemann (182) scored a major decision, Corbin Post (113) was a winner by decision and Joe Bashore (220) advanced because of a disqualification.  

Jake Denman (160) had two pins and Connor Rigsby (152) had a pin and a technical, Nick Boggs (132) had two tech falls and Chad Ely (182) had a pin and a decision for the Beavers. Evan Rosborough (220) and Alex Ivary (145) each tallied pins.

Lakeside had five individuals reach the championship semifinals at Austintown-Fitch.

Tyler Newsome (113), Otis Conel (182), Kyle Conel (195) and Chuck Morgan (heavyweight) all scored pins and Keith Griffin (132) won by decision.

The Dragons are in seventh place with 51 points. Hudson leads the event with 93.5.

Lakeside gets back on the mat this morning at 10 and Madison and Riverside get started at 11. The top four in each weight class at both sectionals will advance to the Mentor district tournament.

Division II

Four area teams currently reside in the top five at Lake Catholic. Perry is second with 80 points, Conneaut is third with 55, Geneva is fourth with 45 and Jefferson is fifth with 43.5. Lake Catholic leads with 91.5. Edgewood is 12th with three points.

The Spartans have seven wrestlers who advanced including Alesha Zappitella (106, pin), Isaiah Ngiraingas (113, pin), C.J. Rice (138, major decision), R.J. Nelson (160, pin and decision), Russell Wanda (182, major decision), Matt Barrickman (195, pin) and Billy Post (220, pin).

Six Eagles advanced to the semis, including Will Distler (106, decision), Zach Elliott (120, pin), Dakota Brininger (132, technical fall), Tyler Cross (145, technical fall), James Hawk (195, decision) and Matt Kozlowski (220, pin).

Brady Toth (106, decision), Collin Dees (113, pin), Aaran Gessic (132, pin), Drew Jones (145, pin and major decision), David Mrosko (152, pin), Alec Schenk (160, pin), Ryan Sill (170, pin), Kyle Kremiller (182, pin), Evan Nichols (195, pin), Jake Vicini (220, bye), Billy Miller (heavyweight, bye) were among the 11 Pirates still fighting for sectional championships.

Joey Baitt (126, pin), Jerry Scott (132, pin), Kendrick Maple (138, pin and tech fall), Rocky Tripodi (170, pin), Blake Perry (182, pin) and Daniel Gillespie (heavyweight, bye) got their way to within a win of the district tournament for the Falcons.

Nick Camp was the lone Warriors in the semifinals. He received a bye at 220.

Wrestling continues at 10 a.m. The top four in each weight class will advance to the Alliance district tournament.

Division III

Grand Valley and Pymatuning Valley are waging quite a battle, not only with one another, but also with the host Bison in Division III at Beachwood.

The Mustangs are tied with Beachwood for the tournament lead with 58 points. The Lakers are just a point and a half behind.

The Mustangs who are in semifinal matchups include Michael Miller (113, won by default), Heath Martin (120, pin) Travis Pelles (138, pin), Sean Szitas (152, pin), Glenn Zaller (pin, 182) and Jason Takacs (heavyweight, pin).

Cody Ellis (182) netted a pair of pins, Kris Leonard (120) and Austin O’Baker (195) each pinned his opponent, Zach Campbell (132) scored a tech fall and Dominic Wolf (145) won by decision for the Lakers.   

Evan Francis (126) netted a pin and has reached the semifinals for Kirtland.

Wrestling continues at 11 a.m. today. The top four grapplers in each weight class will advance to the Garfield Heights district tournament.