The Star Beacon; Ashtabula, Ohio

March 4, 2014

Compan cops top honors

PV coach earns highest recognition for area in Northeast Lakes All-District selections

Sports Editor

— It’s been a dream season, all winter, for coach Jeff Compan and his undefeated Pymatuning Valley Lakers.

Compan & Co., the No. 1-ranked Division III team in Ohio and the only undefeated team in the division in the state, will take on Beachwood in a Division III regional semifinal Wednesday at 8.

And they will do so with an armful of honors as  the Lakers were the local headliners on the Northeast Lakes All-District squad announced Monday by the Associated Press.

Compan is the Division III district coach of the year. Now in his 15th season at the helm, he has steered his Lakers to a perfect record in 25 games this season. For his career, he is 231-97 (.704). In his last four seasons, his Lakers have won 100 out of 109 games, a winning percentage of .917.

Not surprisingly, two of Compan’s players earned first-team recognition in Division III, senior point guard Geena Gabriel and junior forward Kelsea Brown.

A third Laker, junior post player Megan Stech, earned second-team honors.

Joining Stech on the second team is Grand Valley junior guard Jessica Vormelker. Her teammate, senior forward Chris Futty, received special-mention recognition.

In Division II, Geneva guard Lindsey Mayle and Conneaut forward Lexi Zappitelli earned the highest recognition.

Mayle, a sophomore who runs the show for coach Nancy Barbo’s Eagles, will be at the fore tonight when Geneva makes its second appearance in the Sweet 16 when it challenges Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary in a semifinal at Barberton at 8 p.m. Junior teammate Sarah Juncker, a post player, earned third-team recognition, while senior Eagles Emily Ball and Alyssa Scott received special-mention honors.

Zappitelli, a junior forward, was the leading scorer and rebounder for the Spartans.

Also in Division II, Jefferson sophomore guard Emily Smock earned second-team recognition. Teammates Jessica Becker, a junior point guard, and Sarah Brook, a senior post player, received special-mention honors.

Junior guard Brittany Levkulich of Perry received second-team recognition.

In Division I, senior guard Taylor Bland of Madison earned third-team honors, while her junior teammates Ashley Duthie and Julie Bruening, who were accorded special-mention status, being joined there by Lakeside sophomore Sarah Morehouse and Riverside junior Erin Fahl.


Highest recognition for the guys in the area comes in Division II in the form of Edgewood’s Connor McLaughlin. The senior point guard earned first-team team recognition.

Teammate Eli Kalil, a junior forward, and Jefferson senior post player David Chase, were accorded second-team honors.

Conneaut forward Jacob Spees, Geneva point guard Zac Sweat and Perry point guard Anthony Keipert and forward Luke Farrell all received special-mention plaudits.

In Division III, Grand Valley star Jake Vormelker and Pymatuning Valley standout Quintin Ratliff each earned second-team recognition. Both eclipsed 1,000 points for their respective careers this season.

PV guard Chase Thurber received special-mention honors.

In Division I, Lakeside’s Lorenz Sistrunk, Madison post John Dahlhausen, and guards Jordan McClure and Aaron Petruccelli were accorded special-mention recognition, along with Riverside leading scorer Maxx Brubaker.