The Star Beacon; Ashtabula, Ohio

March 17, 2013

Hundreds of entries fill student show at Conneaut Arts Center

Star Beacon

CONNEAUT — Talented youngsters from several area schools collected honors at the annual Student Art Exhibit, now under way at the Conneaut Arts Center, 1025 Buffalo St.

More than 400 entries were submitted, enough to fill both floors of the center’s historic Kilpi Hall home, said Penny Armeni, executive director. “We’ve got art in the main gallery that goes up the stairs and into the dance studio,” she said.

Every school in the Conneaut district participated, as well as students at St. John School, the Buckeye Local district and Conneaut Arts Center, Armeni said.

The show was judged by Stephen Poros, who retired as a Conneaut educator in 2005. He also served as an adjunct professor at Ashland and Cleveland State and Kent State universities.

Winners include:

• Best of Show — Chris Davis, Edgewood Senior High School

• Judge’s Choice — Maria Perkio, Conneaut High School

• Rotary Club Award — Chris Davis, Edgewood Senior High School

• Award of Excellence (Bob and Joann Cox) — Lydia Coccitto, Conneaut High School; Ashleigh Mitchell, Conneaut High School

• Be Spectacular Award (Shirley McElhaney) — Nghi Nguyen, Edgewood Senior High School

• Randall Family Award (In honor of Scott Randall) — Matthew McBride, Conneaut Middle School


(Kindergarten-Grade 2)

• Acrylic — Willow Twining, St. John (first place); Shogo Miyagawa, St. John (second place)

• Other Water Media — Alex Banish, Lakeshore Primary (first place)

• Watercolor — Willow Twining, St. John (first place)


(Grades 3-5)

• Oil Pastel — Kaitlyn Mead, Gateway Elementary School (first place)

• Weaving/paper — David Hill, Gateway Elementary School (first place)

• Colored pencils — Emelia Seibert, Ridgeview Elementary School (first place); Logan Johnson, Gateway Elementary (second place)

• Jewelry — Lilly Nagy, St. John (first place)


(Grades 6-8)

• Sculpture — Morgan Anderson, St. John (first place); Kevin Bowers, Braden Junior High (second place)

• Pencil — Anastazia Raygoza, Conneaut Middle School (first place); Austin Dale, CMS (second place); Kelysey Burdette, CMS (third place); Charlotte Armda, CMS (honorable mention)

• Acrylic fingerpaint — Matthew McBride, CMS (first place)

• Colored pencil — Brody Parks, CMS (first place); Leah Joslin, Braden Junior High (second place)

• Pastels — Brock Farley, CMS (first place); Emily Martin, CMS (second place)

• Acrylic — Miranda Wilson, Conneaut Arts Center (first place); Allivia Zoratti, CAC (second place)

• Marker — Kalissa Santo, CMS (first place)

• Photography — Alura Bonanno, CAC (first place)


(Grades 9-12)

Note: The following students received first-place finishes in their respective age groups

• Mixed Media — Mercedes Burns, Edgewood Senior High School

• Scratchboard — Maria Perkio, CHS

• Ink/pencil — Buddy Keenan, EHS; Lydia Coccitto, CHS

• Marker — Ashleigh Mitchell, CHS

• Pastel — Lydia Coccitto, CHS

• Pencil — Morgan Perkio, digital education; Dhruvi Patel, CHS; Kirsten Jones, CAC

• Charcoal — Kayle Blenman, CHS; Alex Gerdes, CHS; Taylor Lute, EHS

• Oil — Mercedes Burns, EHS