The Star Beacon; Ashtabula, Ohio

July 3, 2013

United Way Board elects new members

Star Beacon

ASHTABULA TOWNSHIP — David Speelman, the new president of the United Way Board of Trustees of Ashtabula County recently elected 10 people to the board.

— For a 3 year term: Peggy Carlo, Bruce deRidder, David Goswick, Nick Iarocci, Barbara Legeza, Gus Saikely, Marlene Sartini and Danny Sullivan;

— For a 2 year term: Fred Grimm, and

— For a 1 year term: David Speelman.

Georgia Farris Romanko served as the president of the board during the past year. United Way’s executive director, Randy Jones, thanked her for her 20-plus years of volunteer efforts for the United Way.

“She accepted every role willingly and gave her best effort on every occasion,” he said.

The United Way board of trustees is the governing body of the organization and is responsible for all major decisions.